15 January 2018

InsuranceERM Awards winners revealed

InsuranceERM is pleased to announce the winners of its 2017 Awards.

Scooping the big prizes this year were Allianz and Scor in the best insurer and reinsurer categories, while AIG Europe's Fabrice Brossart was named chief risk officer of the year. LV='s Mark Laidlaw was voted as chief actuary of the year.

Caroline Coombe, chief executive of Oric International, the operational risk data consortium, received the judges' award for contributions to the industry.

Risk team of the year also went to Allianz, with judges awarding a high commendation to Aviva UK GI.

Actuarial team of the year went to London-based consultancy Hymans Robertson.

Some firms continued their winning run from 2016. EY took the honours in the consultancy category for a second year in a row and the best alternative capital deal-maker was Securis once again.

In the technology categories, FIS Prophet achieved a back-to-back win for best actuarial modelling software.

"The categories were as hotly contested as ever and we were pleased to see the high standard of entries continue," said Christopher Cundy, managing editor, insurance at Field Gibson Media.

"Winners of these awards can rightly consider themselves worthy of being the very best in risk and capital management."

"I would like to express my thanks to all who contributed nominations and to the judges for giving up their time to consider the entries."

You can read the citations here and the summary of winners is below.

We will be hosting an awards cocktail reception on 7 February in London to celebrate excellence within the industry. Please contact [email protected] should you wish to purchase tickets to attend.


Insurer of the year


Reinsurer of the year


Risk innovation of the year


Asset manager of the year


Alternative capital deal-maker (ILS/collateralised re-insurance) of the year


Consultancy of the year



Chief actuary of the year


CRO of the year


Young actuarial professional of the year


Young risk professional of the year


Judge's Award for contribution

  • Caroline Coombe, CEO, ORIC



Risk team of the year


Actuarial team of the year


Cat risk team of the year


Fund/portfolio management team of the year


Longevity/mortality team of the year


Modelling team of the year



Best actuarial modelling software


Best analytics solution


Best catastrophe risk modelling solution


Best data solution


Best end-user computing risk management solution


Best ERM end-to-end solution


Best ESG (economic scenario generator) solution


Best regulatory reporting software


Best reserving solution


Best Solvency II solution


Best stress testing & scenario solution


Best use of cloud technology


How the awards were judged

In the first round of judging, a small group of category judges reviewed submitted entry material and then voted in a secret ballot, ranking the top three entries for each category. Votes were counted and verified by InsuranceERM's editorial team.

These shortlisted entries were then put to a larger judging panel for a second round of voting by secret ballot.

All judges are senior industry experts from across Europe and the UK, each chosen for their knowledge, objectivity and credibility.

The judges' decision is final and neither InsuranceERM nor the judging panel will enter into any correspondence regarding individual entries and/or award winners.